Two Highly Abstract Thoughts

Here’s two thoughts that seem pretty much true to me, that might help you, but this post is incredibly selfishly almost entirely for me.

  1. Whatever my emotional state, I am pretty much always physically capable of doing the things I need to do in order to make anything I can normally do happen. My body is pretty much always capable of doing the physical action that leads to results.
  2. In the moment, I should tend towards doing the thing that pops into my head, even if I have the information necessary to do something better. I want to automatically take the correct action in the future, and since reinforcement learning happens, I should positively or negatively reinforce whatever pops up. If it’s the right thing, good, because now I’ll do it more. If it’s the wrong thing good, because now I know that. Thinking and planning are fine outside of the moment, but unless I want my response to everything to be to think about it, I should do the thing that comes to mind. Take more action, get more data, learn from it afterwards. I can either try to turn thinking into action, or I can act and then reflect. Behavior generation runs deeper than verbal thought.
About atucker

Provisional pronouncements and (hopefully) honest mistakes. I'd like to be differently wrong about things, and helpful to the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Highly Abstract Thoughts

  1. Brendon says:

    I’m reminded of one of my first and favorite Go proverbs:

    “Lose your first fifty games as fast as possible.”

Leave a Reply

