Discomfort is a Waste of Cognitive Cycles

So I’m working on The One Week Book project.

While I’m talking with Sebastian, I notice that I feel really uncomfortable. About like, all of it. Getting paid, leading a team, shipping a project. All of it.

And you know what? That’s stupid.

I know that I’m acting within my values, and I know what I want to do. Like, every part of me knows that.

I’ve never done any publishing before, and I haven’t worked with a team in this context, and I have stuff to learn.

But discomfort is a waste of thinking. It makes me feel more averse to thinking about and doing things, and makes me spend more time and effort feeling weird and fighting myself than actually working on it.

I have reasons to feel uncomfortable, but feeling uncomfortable doesn’t help me fix those reasons!

Like, I want this to work, and feeling uncomfortable is just not helpful. I need to think about what I’m doing, I need to be able to make decisions. I need to focus, and not look away.

Luckily I already have a few mental habits in place to act on ideas like that. They worked. More on those later, tonight I feel like sleeping.

 

About atucker

Provisional pronouncements and (hopefully) honest mistakes. I'd like to be differently wrong about things, and helpful to the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

